County Health Rankings in a **Changing Kansas**

May 8, 2019

AGENDA

9:45 a.m. Registration

Welcome 10:00 a.m.

Robert F. St. Peter, M.D., President and CEO, Kansas Health Institute

A Changing Kansas 10:10 a.m.

Charlie Hunt, M.P.H., Senior Analyst, Kansas Health Institute

The State of Health in Kansas: Where We Live Matters 10:30 a.m.

Gianfranco Pezzino, M.D., M.P.H., Senior Fellow, Kansas Health Institute

Lunch: What do Rankings Mean? 11:10 a.m.

Facilitated Conversation

Whither Goes Kansas? 11:50 a.m.

> Ron Manderscheid, Ph.D., Executive Director, National Association of County Behavioral Health and Developmental Disability Directors; Executive Director, National Association for Rural Mental Health; Adjunct Professor, Department of Mental Health, Bloomberg School of Public Health, John Hopkins University; and Adjunct Professor, School of Social Work,

University of Southern California

Break 12:50 p.m.

Panel Discussion 1:05 p.m.

John Jacobson, M.H.A., CEO, Atchison Hospital

Jody Hoener, L.B.S.W., M.B.A., Economic Development Director, Bourbon County

Les Sperling, B.A., L.A.C., President and CEO, Recovery PRN, LLC

Bringing It Home 1:50 p.m.

Facilitated Conversation

Closing Remarks 2:15 p.m.

Thomas L. Bell, President and CEO, Kansas Hospital Association

Lee A. Norman, M.D., Secretary, Kansas Department of Health and Environment

Adjourn 2:30 p.m.

















SPEAKERS



Ron Manderscheid, Ph.D.

Ron Manderscheid, Ph.D., is the Executive Director of the National Association of County Behavioral Health and Developmental Disability Directors. He also is the Executive Director of the National Association for Rural Mental Health and is an Adjunct Professor at the Department of Mental Health, Bloomberg School of Public Health, Johns Hopkins University, and at the School of Social Work, University of Southern California. He serves on the boards of the Cosmos Club, the Employee Assistance Research Foundation, the Danya Institute, the Council on Quality and Leadership, the NASMHPD Research Institute, and the National Register of Health Service Psychologists. He also is Co-Chair of the Coalition for Whole Health.



John Jacobson, M.H.A.

John L. Jacobson, M.H.A., is CEO of Atchison Hospital in Atchison, Kansas, a role he has held for more than a dozen years. Prior to that, he was CEO of Lee's Summit Hospital in Lee's Summit, Missouri, and held other roles in hospital management. He served on the Board of Directors for the Kansas Hospital Association and the Regional Policy Board for the American Hospital Association. In 2018, he received the Donald A. Wilson Visionary Award in recognition of his innovative contributions to the community health care system. He is involved in several community organizations, including the Rotary Club and his local church.



Jody Hoener, L.B.S.W., M.B.A.

Jody Hoener, L.B.S.W., M.B.A., is the Economic Development Director for Bourbon County and serves as the Healthy Bourbon County Action Team coordinator for the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Pathways to a Healthy Kansas Grant. She has led efforts in addressing county health rankings through a policy, systems and environment approach with a focus on improving quality of life and encouraging economic growth. She has experience in community development, strategic planning and community engagement.



Les Sperling, B.A., L.A.C.

Les Sperling, B.A., L.A.C., has 35 years of experience leading Substance Use Disorder treatment centers. He is the CEO of Recovery PRN, LLC, and specializes in implementation of peer recovery services, recovery services assisted by technology, and the integration of substance use disorder services into primary and acute medical care settings. Prior to his current position, he served for 19 years as CEO of the Central Kansas Foundation, a substance use prevention and treatment facility offering a full continuum of services in four Kansas locations. He also has served as a consultant for the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration and the Health Resources Services Administration.